Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: B+ voltage on HR-40

  1. #1
    ppp Pianississmo Jwolter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2018
    Location
    Midwest USA
    Posts
    32

    B+ voltage on HR-40

    Correct me if I'm wrong but the HR-40 does indeed send B+ voltage on pin #5 right?

    Thanks jw

  2. #2
    ff Fortissimo JoeyB3's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    1,629

    Yes, it does....
    1st born: 1958 B3 & 1964 Leslie 122
    Most Proud of: 1938 Concert Model E & 1948 Leslie 31A
    Daily Workhorse: 3 Manual Rodgers running Hauptwerk 4.2
    New Kid on the Block: Hammond Novachord (year not determined yet)

  3. #3
    ppp Pianississmo Jwolter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2018
    Location
    Midwest USA
    Posts
    32

    Quote Originally Posted by JoeyB3 View Post
    Yes, it does....
    Thanks! I will confirm when I get into it later tonight. Much appreciated.

  4. #4
    ff Fortissimo muckelroy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Austin, TX
    Posts
    1,261

    1 members found this post helpful.
    It sends B+ on pin 5 of the amplifier connector, which your organ will only get if it has a 6 pin connecting cable on both sides. 6 to 5 cables omit the B+ pin on the organ side.

  5. #5
    ppp Pianississmo Jwolter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2018
    Location
    Midwest USA
    Posts
    32

    Quote Originally Posted by muckelroy View Post
    It sends B+ on pin 5 of the amplifier connector, which your organ will only get if it has a 6 pin connecting cable on both sides. 6 to 5 cables omit the B+ pin on the organ side.
    Yep, I'm new to the game and didn't realize my HR40 had the b-plus because I was using it with my C2. I didn't realize I was using a 5 to 6 pin cord until this morning. I bought BCV the other day and I've been alligator clipping from the swell when all along I had the b-plus and didn't know it. Derp

  6. #6
    fff Fortississimo David Anderson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    3,529

    When Hammond switched to -2 series organs with self-powered preamps, they started installing 5-pin sockets in the outlet boxes. Many of these 5-pin sockets have been replaced over the years, especially if the organ has a 6W kit installed, but you still find them.
    I'm David. 'Dave' is someone else's name.

Similar Threads

  1. Hammond M3 Voltage Drop
    By dawsonaudio in forum Hammond Organs
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 08-07-2014, 02:47 AM
  2. Replies: 24
    Last Post: 07-07-2014, 10:35 PM
  3. Low Voltage on Terminal K
    By jpmas555 in forum Hammond Organs
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 02-21-2014, 12:23 PM
  4. Voltage rating of PCBs
    By torea in forum Electronic Organs
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-23-2011, 05:34 PM
  5. AC VOLTAGE HUM REDUCTION ??????
    By albaners in forum Electronic Organs
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-08-2005, 06:20 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •