Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Introduction and Advice on Purchasing a Reed Organ

ppp Pianississmo ColoradoJoshua's Avatar

Smile Introduction and Advice on Purchasing a Reed Organ

Hello people of the Organ Forum!

My name is Joshua and I'm from the great state of Colorado! (haha, no surprise there) I graduated high school back in May of this year and I've been a huge fan of organs for as long as I can remember.

Over the years I've had the opportunity to hear various organs at different events and churches. I've been fortunate enough to have been able to briefly play both a church organ and a theater organ in town, but because I haven't had ready access to one that I could practice regularly on, I would still classify myself as a beginner organist. There is a guy in town who offers pipe organ lessons, but they're $80 an hour and that hasn't ever been feasible for us. I'm at an intermediate level when it comes to the piano, but the organ and the piano are very very different instruments. I'm confident that I could teach myself organ if need-be as I've already done so with quite a number of other instruments, but there again is the whole having-access-to-one problem.

12 to 13 years ago, a family friend gave me an old electric Kimball Valencia home organ from the 1960's. I've had that ever since, but now various components are starting to give out and it's slowly giving up the ghost. The main reason I've kept it is for sentimental reasons, but I've wanted to replace it for a while with something that would fit my needs and taste in music better. I've never really been a huge fan of electric organs. There's just something about a raw sound coming straight out of a pipe, reed, or bell that just can't be replaced digitally. I've always really loved pipe organs, but being a poor student with little space to work with and very little budget, owning one of my own has never been a possibility for me, obviously.