Thread: Moving my Hammond B3 to my new apartment!

Moving my Hammond B3 to my new apartment!

Hey Buddies!

I'm moving to a new apartment and I'll transport my Hammond B3. Any tips???

I'm worried about the oil. Should I remove it from the "cans" / "reservoir"?

Consider that maybe I'll need to put it standing with one side faced to the ground and the other side faced to the ceiling, as the stairs and elevator ain't that large. Is it ok?

Thank you for your support, hammond friends!

Yes, I'm a newbie here!

well I'm sure you already know to lock down the generator,I've never removed oil from a hammond,I guess you'd have to peel back the tin cover a bit at the end of the oil trough and suck it out with somthing,prop the organ up a bit on one side so all the oil runs to one spot and get as much of it as you can if your going to actually take the oil out,unless your organ has been over oiled I would not worry about it,you may have some spill out but it won't hurt anything,I'd worry more about beating up the cabinet if your moving it up steps in a tight space,I guess the best thing to have is lots a muscle,good luck on your move!

Lock the generator, use some old blankets to protect the cabinet, and stuff a rag in the end that will be towards the floor to absorb any oil. Unless there is far too much oil in there, you should not have much excess. You will be fine, just remember to remove the rag and dispose of it properly. Oily rags can catch fire by themselves so be careful.

Rehearse the sideways Hammond act in a place you have enough space to move around and see if you start to get too much oil, that way you can just change the rag and repeat until you don't have dripping. Your new neighbors will appreciate not having oil in the elevator and it will keep your case nicer too.

Best wishes on your new apartment.