Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Preamp for Wurlitzer 420

Preamp for Wurlitzer 420

I very recently acquired a Wurlitzer 420 tone cabinet with Spectrasound module and self-contained power amp. I'm trying to match this with a suitable preamp, knowing only of the Leslie Combo Preamp.

I've been told the 420 amp has an 8-pin connector.

The model of Leslie combo preamp I'm looking at has a 6 pin output.

I've located some parts which can take a 6 pin connection into being an 8-pin connection, presumably with two of the pin contacts unused. If I fuse this into a lead will I have joy?

Are there any other preamps which are better suited to the Wurlitzer 420? I can find a couple of stripped out Wurlitzer organs online but I am a complete novice to any sort of wiring, I have a helper in my dad but would prefer a stock unit which would work for this purpose.

I have a Wurlitzer 200A, Hohner Pianet and Hohner B2A Bass I'd like to run through this amongst other things and would like to get up and running. Thank you.

Welcome to the forum!

The 420 is a pretty cool cab. I've got one and am adapting it for a Hammond without doing any modifications to the amp. Yours should have a 6-pin connector, wired differently from the Leslie connections you'll usually find. Luckily, you can still use it with a Leslie (147 style) if you make a jumper and don't need switching. Switching in these doesn't control the motor like on a Leslie, rather it controls the speaker connections. The Spectratone has a solenoid on top that can be wired into the crossover to give you an interesting effect, I believe it was meant to emulate a Leslie without having a lower baffle. There are 3 relays inside the 420s amp, these control whether that solenoid is in effect, and which speakers get what. It's interesting, and a bit complicated