Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Newbie with studying question

Newbie with studying question

I am fairly new at organ playing, I have played for not quite a year yet. I am wondering how much (if any) damage has been done to my skills or what have you. I have been playing the piano for many years, thought had a hiatus for a few years. I then started playing in church I have played mostly from lead sheets. I then moved to the organ because I wanted to learn and our director was fine with that as she plays the piano and directs the choir, etc during the service. When I started playing the organ I played from lead sheets (below is a link of two of my videos from when I first started playing, hence the mistakes) and I am wondering how much damage was done from me learning to play the organ from lead sheets? Any suggestions for re-teaching myself and starting to go to full fledged organ music? I will take any and all suggestions as this has been a dream of mine and the original reason I started taking piano lessons. Any suggestions on pieces I can start on to start training with true organ music? Thank you in advance!

http://youtu.be/ebQAGcpw7e4

http://youtu.be/9yeWIcYmgE0

Sometimes I play from sheet music. Sometimes I play from lead sheets. Sometimes I play from memory. I don't think it makes much difference. Years ago a guitar teacher impressed upon me the distinction between "playing the notes" and "playing the music". Ultimately what I try to do is turn it all into enjoyable music.
    I know it's been a good practice session when I pause for a quick break, return and the room has a faint odor of Hammond oil in the air that only occurs when the console has been running for hours & hours.

1940 Hammond model D organ with 1970 Leslie #122 speaker.
    1942 Hammond model BC organ with 1958 Leslie #45 speaker with 122 amplifier and two speed motors.
    1994 Allen MDS-3 theatre organ

Quote Originally Posted by matty View Post