Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Chopped Hammond C3

Chopped Hammond C3

Hello, All! I acquired a Hammond C3 with a Leslie 122 last year. I made up my mind and changed it about a dozen times over the last year regarding "chopping" the C3. I've performed out for over a year and a half on a chopped M3 which is now in my rehearsal space. I'm using the cut portion of the C3 as a stand for my M3.

Am I a Hammond "serial killer"?? Anyway, here are some pics. I'm going to have a 1/4" output put in. It already has 3 channels from the previous owner who was a Hammond engineer. (2 Tone Cabinets and a Leslie 122)
    Attached Images Attached Images

I don't want to get into a philosophical debate regarding the moral issues of a Hammond chop! I am a musician by trade, and this organ will give MUCH pleasure to the many people that will hear it. Otherwise, it would have sat in my living room not really having much of a chance to go to 11. Besides, the cabinet wasn't in the best of conditions.

I'm no expert but in the 70's when I was playing with an B-3 organist, he had a custom plywood cabinet built and the B-3 installed. When he decided that a B-3 was too much to carry around, he moved it back into the original cabinet and it still sits in his living room today.
    Have you ever imagined a world with no hypothetical situations?

There aren't many churches interested in a C3, so the old cabinet is kind of obsolete. From the look of it, that cabinet needed serious work anyway. My church traded in a C2 or 3 on a Rogers, because the volume pot was bad. They wouldn't let me fix it, it would have messed up the begging campaign. They probably got $100 for it.
    city Hammond H-182 organ (2 ea),A100,10-82 TC,Steinway 40" console piano, Sohmer 39" piano, Ensoniq EPS, Wurlitzer 4500, Dynakit ST120, ST70 amps, Herald Ra88 Mixer, Peavey SP2XT speakers,BIC turntable; country Hammond H112.

Quote Originally Posted by indianajo View Post