Thread: Conn Rhapsody 628 crackling noise

Conn Rhapsody 628 crackling noise

Non musician, electrical dyslexic, stupid newbie here. So please bear with me...

My wife has a Conn Rhapsody 628 which she had given to her by a church when they replaced it with something more up to date. It has a crackling noise that is inconsistant but more prevelent on the lower keyboard than the upper. Volume does not seem to effect it and it does not effect the pedals.

My wife is beginning to practice more since she will now be occassionally filling in at the church that gave her the organ. The crackling is really annoying to her and she says it makes it difficult to concentrate when she practices.

Any ideas what could cause this? Any good places to start? Any chance it could just involve some contact cleaning?

I'm not completely inept--I used to restore European motorcycles and before that spent much time working on race cars--but this stuff is totally foriegn to me. Electronics is just magic. Any suggestions?

Thanks,

Kip