Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Caravan (GEM?) compact organ - help please

Caravan (GEM?) compact organ - help please

Hello,

i'm new to the world of home organs and new to this forum. I would appreciate some guidance on a repair issue for an obscure organ I just bought. As it's my first post please allow me a little time to introduce myself.

I arrived at organs via synthesizers as I make and listen to a lot of electronic music. But i'm in also a band that does psychedelic rock style, and we have always used Native Instruments' B4 and other organ VST instruments to help achieve our sound. Recently I started looking at real organs to replace our software. Not only for the sound, but also for the pleasure of playing a real analogue instrument. So after some searching I recently bought two double manual "portable" organs: an Acetone GT-7 for the band and a Crumar Organizer T2 for myself (I said I liked synths!). Today I picked up my 3rd and (probably) final organ, a 49 key Caravan, from 1975 I think (the QC sticker says 75). I wanted a "cheesy" sound as an alternative to the "Hammond"-esque sound of the Acetone. It has a few problems and obviously hasn't been used in a while. I'm a total noob when it comes to fixing things.

All the keys make a sound, but the B, A#, A, G#, F#, and F keys only play correctly on the top octave. The lower octaves (for those specific notes only) play the highest octave notes instead, so basically they are the same as the highest octave. I hope I explained that ok. Also, the "Chord Bass" switch doesn't appear to do anything (not sure how it should sound either!). Does anyone know anything about this organ, and more importantly which components are likely at fault and if I can easily get replacements?

BTW, don't worry, I only paid 15 euros for the Caravan - thought it would be worth a punt.

*EDIT* The only info I have about this organ was found at http://www.combo-organ.com/Gem/index.htm

Thanks
    100_0011.jpg
    100_0004.jpg