Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Definition of Analog Organs - Digital Organs

Definition of Analog Organs - Digital Organs

Hi Folks,</P>

I had a few discussions with organ lovers as to what distinguishes an Analog organ from a Digital organ. Myunderstanding is: If the tone generation is a wave form and the various voices are produced by filtering I call it Analog. If the voices are samples or assembled from samples I call it Digital. Enlighten me please!</P>

Cheers,</P>

Skippy</P>
    <P mce_keep="true"></P>
    <P mce_keep="true"></P>
    <P mce_keep="true"></P>
    AS FAR AS ORGANS ARE CONCERNED - I'M A GOOD MECHANIC AND A HOPELESS DRIVER.
    Hammond C3 & M102 & Elegante & PR40. Yamaha D85 & D65 & FS30 & MC600 & GX76. Thomas Celebrity Royale 871, Kawai T5 & E550, Conn 643 & 632 & 552.Lowrey H25R2. Elka EP12. Orla D6180, Wurlitzer 4430 & Omni 7000 & 555. Roland D70 & RA90 . Ferrofish B4000+. Leslie 145 & 705 & 710 & 720

Re: Definition of Analog Organs - Digital Organs

Leaving the drum boxes out for the moment and concentrating on the tone generation of the organ's voices.</p>

Use of samples or S+S (Sample and Synthesis) would be digital. True digital additive synthesis (like Kawai used) and FM synthesis are also digital (though I suppose you could do this using analogue oscillators. Physical Modelling will be digital - when Roland et al apply it to organs.</p>

Creation of waveforms in other ways, whether through subtractive filtering or waveform addition, would be analogue.</p>

Of course there may be some digital circuitry in analogue organs, but not actually a crucial part of the tone generation process - all sorts of control circuitry etc. Also maybe for top octave synthesis.
    </p>

Maybe a little simplified, but that's basically how I'd read it. Pretty much what you said, Skip.</p>

Andy
    </p>

</p>
    It's not what you play. It's not how you play. It's the fact that you're playing that counts.

New website now live - www.andrew-gilbert.com